10.08.17. Birdlog

It is a few days since I managed to get down to the marshes and I was chomping at the bit to do a spot of birding. Driving along Marsh Lane I stopped to have a chat with Idris and Jacqui Roberts and that prove to be costly (apologies to both of you ;O).

On arrival at No.6 tank I had barely got myself seated with a quick scan of the exposed muddy areas revealing a big flock of Black-tailed Godwit (and I mean big numbers!). Also present in big numbers (and again I mean big numbers!) was a flock of Dunlin. Suddenly the entire flocks of birds exploded into the air and the majority bolted out to the estuary with the remainder bunching into a massive bait ball. I don’t normally swear at birds (erm? I might have to re-edit that comment) but a huge blundering (Bella Emberg of a) juvenile female Peregrine crashed through the area sending everything on its way. My fist was in a mock clench and shaking in the direction of the fast departing falcon…I could have cried!

Looking out across the near empty sludge tank a single Greenshank, 1 Ruff, 7 Redshank and 5 Black-tailed Godwit remained. What was lurking within those now vacated shorebirds could only be guessed at. I’m not a happy bunny!

Common Teal have increased with 83 birds and 7 Shoveler are fresh arrivals.

Earlier another Greenshank was off Widnes Warth Marsh with 4 Redshank.

Observer and image: WSM.

Over on the Weaver estuary a dozen Black-tailed Godwit and 3 Common Sandpiper were present while a few Common Swift and Sand Martin were overhead.

Observer: Paul Ralston.

Enter sightings and comments

